- HomeDirector Scott Bennett- Biography

Director Scott E. Bennett
Scott Bennett was selected by the Arkansas Highway Commission to become Director of the Arkansas Department of Transportation effective September 22, 2011.

Bennett began his career with the Department by working as an engineering intern in the Department’s District 10 Office in northeast Arkansas. Following graduation from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville in May 1989 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering, he began working full time for the Department’s Planning and Research Division. He held various titles in that Division until completing his Master’s Degree in Civil Engineering in 1994. In April of 2004, he was promoted to the Department’s Assistant Chief Engineer for Planning where his responsibilities included administration of the Department’s highway needs studies, long-range transportation planning, financial planning, policy planning, research programs, traffic safety programs, environmental studies, surveying, construction program management and project scheduling.

Mr. Bennett was named the University of Arkansas Young Engineer Alumni of the Year in 2005. He was inducted into the Arkansas Academy of Civil Engineering in 2010, where he was President in 2016-2017. Bennett is a member of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials’ (AASHTO) Board of Directors, where he was elected Secretary-Treasurer in 2017 and is part of the Executive Committee. He is also Chair of AASHTO’s Committee on Planning and a member of the Transportation Policy Forum. Bennett is a member of the AASHTO/Associated General Contractors of America/American Road and Transportation Builders Association Joint Committee, where he has served as Co-Chair since 2011. He is also a member of the Transportation Research Board’s (a Division of the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine) Executive Committee. In 2015, he was appointed by Governor Asa Hutchinson to the Arkansas Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyor, where he currently serves as President.

In 2016, Bennett received AASHTO’s Thomas H. MacDonald Memorial Award for outstanding service in highway engineering.


Copyright © 2019 ARDOT
Notice of Nondiscrimination ¦ Freedom of Information