ARKANSAS' E-BIKE LAW



ARKANSAS' E-BIKE LAW FOR THE ROAD

- » E-bikes are regulated like bicycles. The same rules of the road apply to both e-bikes and human-powered bicycles.
- » E-bikes are not subject to the registration, licensing, or insurance requirements that apply to motor vehicles.
- » Arkansas designates three classes of e-bikes:
 - · Class 1: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
 - Class 2: Bicycle equipped with a throttle-actuated motor, that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.

- Class 3: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 28 mph.
- » Helmets are required for riders of Class 3 e-bikes under 21 years of age. Persons under 16 years of age may not ride a Class 3 e-bike. There are certain access restrictions for Class 3 e-bike riders.
- » Local governments have the authority to restrict the use of e-bikes under motor power on bike paths. When in doubt, check with your town, city, or county for local rules and regulations.
- * The following Arkansas laws are referenced: Ark. Code §§ 27-20-101, 27-20-106.

eMTB GUIDELINES

- » On federal, state, county and local trails, e-mountain bike (eMTB) access varies significantly.
- » Generally, any natural surface trail that is designated as open to both motorized and non-motorized uses is also open to eMTBs.
- » eMTBs may not be allowed on trails managed for non-motorized activities.
- » Do not ride your eMTB in areas where the local rules are unclear. Ride legally and only on authorized trails to show that mountain bikers are responsible trail users.
- » When in doubt, ask your local land manager about access to specific trails. Local land rules change frequently.

» LOCAL: Consult your local land management agency.

ARKANSAS' E-BIKE LAW FOR TRAILS

- » STATE: Arkansas State Parks or Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department do not currently have an eMTB policy. Contact the departments for the most up to date information. PeopleForBikes is monitoring this policy and will update this document as needed.
- » FEDERAL: On federal lands, eMTBs are considered motorized vehicles and have access to motorized trails. Contact the U.S. Forest Service Southern Regional Office for more information.

CHECK OUT

- » A map of great eMTB rides at peopleforbikes.org/emtb
- » eMTB "Adventures" at peopleforbikes.org/e-bikes

GREAT EMTB RIDES IN ARKANSA

» Mocassin Gap Horse Trail Russellville I 28 miles

» Brock Creek Trails Russellville I 15.2 miles

With an e-bike, bicyclists can ride more often, farther, and for more trips.

Electric bicycles are designed to be as safe as traditional bicycles, do not compromise consumer safety, and benefit bicyclists who may be discouraged from riding a traditional bicycle due to limited physical fitness, age, disability or convenience.

In many states, e-bikes are regulated under antiquated laws primarily aimed at combustion engine vehicles such as mopeds or scooters. PeopleForBikes and the Bicycle Product Suppliers Association are clarifying state laws governing the use of e-bikes in the U.S. Every state's law is different, but the objective is to ensure that low-speed e-bikes are regulated similarly to traditional, human-powered bicycles.



Learn more at PeopleForBikes.org/e-bikes

- » Blogs and webinars
- » E-bike laws around the country
- » E-bike statistics and research
- » Buying guide
- » Retailer materials
- » eMTB management resources



